Chicken, Spinach & Artichoke Casserole

With Fall in the air, it is definitely home food time and nothing says that better than a casserole.  Now, I will preface this recipe with a quick note: although I try my best to make all the food I cook healthy, sometimes there is just no getting around certain ingredients.  In the case of this meal, it’s the Alfredo sauce.  I’m sure there’s a way to make this from scratch so that it’s healthy but frankly, I just don’t want to.  I came up with the idea for this from seeing the title Spinach & Artichoke Casserole while searching recipes online, but I didn’t have the time to actually read the recipe.  But the title was good enough – I had artichokes and spinach sitting around waiting to be used so this was perfect!  It was obviously a vegetarian recipe and given the fact that I’ve eaten more red meat in the past two weeks than I have in the past year, I probably should have gone ahead with something vegetarian but, hey, again, I didn’t want to!

Growing up, our family did not sit down to too many casseroles – my father was not and is not a fan so few were served.  In fact, I was tempted to try and come up with another name for this other than a casserole (some psychological issues at play here perhaps?) but figured, who would I be kidding?  Once I moved out on my own, I realized casseroles are good and they can be economical.  This is both – leave out the chicken and cream cheese and it’s downright cheap.

As with all things I make, as I mentioned, I try to use lower fat ingredients when I can get away with it.  Here, I use light cream cheese since no one will ever be able to tell the difference.  I was also going to use mozzarella cheese in it but by the time I mixed everything together I thought that it would be overkill – this is pretty darn rich without it.  Also, I always try to use as many vegetables as I think will work with a dish so that they, if not cancel out the fatty stuff, at least help balance it a wee bit.  You’ll notice there are no onions in this – for some reason I don’t like onions in anything creamy, but feel free to add them if you’re not as fussy.  I will try and keep this one short and sweet!

Ingredients:

Canned artichokes, drained, rinsed and chopped

1 package of frozen spinach – thawed and squeezed dry

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and diced (I poached mine)

Approximately 2 cups of mushrooms, sliced and cooked

1 large red pepper, diced and cooked

1 jar of Alfredo sauce

½ 8oz. package of light cream cheese, softened (or… 4oz. of cream cheese!)

1 cup of light sour cream – don’t use fat free sour cream, ever – you might as well use Elmer’s Glue

Pasta – rotini, bow tie, penne – something that will hold up well in a casserole and will hold the sauce – cook per the box directions minus a minute or three – I used approximately 3 cups of bow ties

A few dashes of Tabasco

Salt and pepper to taste

Directions: (heat oven to 375)

This is easy: mix all the vegetables, the chicken and the pasta in either a large bowl or pot.  Next, put the Alfredo sauce and cream cheese in a pot to heat up – this melts the cream cheese into the sauce.  Take the sauce off the heat and add the sour cream and Tabasco.  Lastly, pour the sauce over the veggie/chicken/pasta, stir and pour into a greased casserole dish.  Cover with tin foil and put into the oven for about 40 minutes.  Take the foil off and continue cooking for another 5-10 minutes.

Serve up and enjoy!!!

~Trisha~

Not pretty but super delish!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sameetah
    Sep 18, 2012 @ 22:31:51

    hhmmm! it seems really delicious 🙂

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Country Casserole Dishes « USA Country
  3. Trackback: Chicken Casserole | familyrecipebooks
  4. Trackback: Tortellini Spinach Casserole | Can't Stay Out of the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

liv.love.blog

everyday stuff: relationships, travel, style, food & more

omfg. so good.

if it tastes good, eat it.

AMANDA AUSTIN

Comedian. Writer. Actor.

Brittany Harrington

Cooking, Baking, Ideas and Art

Kim Constable

Author, Speaker, Yogi, Unschooling Mum

random olio

olio n. (OH-lee-oh): a miscellaneous mixture; a hodgepodge

Gen Y Idealist

I've been told my expectations out of life are too high

jamaiquina

"Living creatively means never turning the tap off. It is not about what you do, but who and how you are."

