Why I Meditate in the Kitchen

No, you read that right.  I meditate in the kitchen.  Not all the time, and not every day, but I do.  Sure, I do my “real” meditation in my living room, on the sofa, stereo off, lights off, sometimes guided, sometimes not.  But, I definitely consider my kitchen time as my favorite meditation time.  So what exactly do I do when I meditate in my kitchen?  I cook (and occasionally bake).

My first memory of being in the kitchen is when I was about six years old and baking a cake in order to earn my Baking Badge for Brownies (ah, remember Brownies?!).  My Mom still tells the story every once in a while.  I have a short attention span and I’m very easily distracted – I was standing on a chair at the counter sifting flour through one of those metal cups with a handle that you squeeze to sift the flour through it.  Well, my Mom called my name to tell me something, I turned to look at her, and continued sifting the flour right onto the floor.   (By the way, this is one of the reasons I don’t drive – I can’t seem to just turn my head, I put my whole body into it which is a little tiny bit unsafe when driving!)  Well, didn’t matter, I earned my badge and was a happy little camper.

Anyways, back to the cooking.  Anyone with a full-time job can attest to the fact that finding the time to cook dinner every night is difficult.  My job keeps me away from my home for almost 12 hours a day – I leave at 7:30 in the morning and get back home at roughly 7 at night.  Cooking dinner after work each day just doesn’t work for me and my schedule.

So what’s a girl to do?  I’ll tell you what this girl does – each Sunday, I gather all of the ingredients for the meals that I’m going to be eating for the week, both lunches and dinners, and I cook.  I cook like a demon.  Sometimes there’s music involved, and sometimes I just want peace and quiet.  Either way, it has turned into a relaxing, meditative, yet very productive, part of my weekend.

I own a lot of cookbooks – I have an entire book shelf dedicated to my growing collection.  Every Christmas I receive a new one and it’s something I look forward to.  I read these cookbooks like novels, from cover to cover, drooling over the recipes and photos; but here’s the thing – I can probably count on my two hands the number of times I’ve actually used/followed a recipe in one of those books.  I’m more of a do-my-own-thing kind of cook.  Granted, I have a tendency to cook the same things over and over but that’s okay, I like the routine.

One of my favorite things to do in the kitchen is chopping fruit and vegetables which sounds boring, I know, but this exercise isn’t about excitement so it’s okay.  My breakfast consists of the same thing every day – chopped fresh fruit.  There is something so relaxing about cutting up produce – the repetition, the monotony, the rhythm.  It’s like, well, meditation.  I’ve cut up so much fruit over the years, I can chop up a pineapple, a couple of kiwis, mangos and a melon in roughly 10 minutes!  Onions, peppers, mushrooms, carrots, potatoes – well, once I get into the rhythm of slicing and dicing and chopping those, I could handle the entire produce section!

Baking is a completely different story altogether.  While I like baking, I know that if all the conditions aren’t perfect, or as close to perfect as I can make them, whatever I bake probably won’t turn out very well.  I read somewhere that your baking turns out the way you’re feeling – in other words if you’re stressed when you’re baking, whatever you’ve made will likely not come out very good, but if you’re relaxed and happy, you’ll have a good day in the kitchen.  That is so true.  I definitely noticed that at Christmas, in particular, over the years.  I used to wait until the last minute to do my Christmas baking and was always rushed and stressed; things just didn’t turn out very good.  Well, I shouldn’t say that, they turned out okay, but they were never as good as they could have been (I feel like I’m sounding like Martha Stewart here, but what can I say, I’m a bit of a perfectionist).  Now, I meditate before going into the kitchen; after that, I’m relaxed, centered, balanced, and ready to get my hands (and my kitchen) dirty.  I also don’t wait until the last minute at Christmas anymore!

I’m sure the main thing with baking is that unlike cooking it’s a science – and I was never any good at science.  Now, I only bake when I’m completely relaxed and in the mood to bake.  One of my favorite things to bake is bread.  Yep, bread.  Not in a bread machine but the old school, put your back into it, knead for 10 minutes, way.  Honestly, it’s beyond meditative and therapeutic.  I love it and I love giving away the bread, it makes me feel good.  Really, making something delicious and comforting out of a few inedible raw ingredients (flour, yeast) never ceases to amaze me!

My First Batch of Bread!!! (Sorry for the photo quality, I wasn’t expecting to ever post this!)

I’ve been told that I should do something with my cooking and baking, something professional.  But I always say the same thing, if I turned what I love as a relaxing hobby into something I did for a living, I don’t know if I would love it as much.  So, a hobby it will remain.  I will continue my Sunday ritual of cooking and relaxing and creating.

~Trisha~

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. susanbahr
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 16:29:41

    It’s nice to hear someone out there enjoys their time in the kitchen- after 23 years of dinners I’m ready to quit. Thanks for the wisdom- there can be joy in the simple daily tasks.

    Reply

  2. motivationalrants
    Sep 01, 2012 @ 18:39:15

    I thought you should know that your picture is making me very hungry. I enjoyed reading this, although I’m quite the opposite I find it relaxing to sit back and watch others cook especially if their good at it! =)

    Reply

    • Simply Om
      Sep 02, 2012 @ 10:14:14

      Thanks! Oh I used to be like that back when I was trying to do everything when I just didn’t have the time but now…well, I’ve made changes and I now love to cook! Thanks for reading!! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Trackback: Baking Bread « The Curse Of The Single Parent
  4. sameetah
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 09:02:59

    :-)))))

    Reply

  5. Rbto
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 17:30:58

    Es lo mismo que yo siento cuando cocino para relajarme. Muchas gracias por expresarlo tan bien.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

liv.love.blog

everyday stuff: relationships, travel, style, food & more

omfg. so good.

if it tastes good, eat it.

AMANDA AUSTIN

Comedian. Writer. Actor.

total e-bag

The world according to Emily Belden, 400 words at a time.

Brittany Harrington

Cooking, Baking, Ideas and Art

Kim Constable

Author, Speaker, Yogi, Unschooling Mum

random olio

olio n. (OH-lee-oh): a miscellaneous mixture; a hodgepodge

Gen Y Idealist

I've been told my expectations out of life are too high

