A Bridge of Inspiration

On December 30, 2011, while surfing the web, I came across a news article about a 16 year old boy, Jack Jablonski (a quick Google search will provide you with pages of stories on Jack), who was checked from behind while participating in a sport he loves, hockey.  The result of that check was devastating, paralysis. Jack was told he would never walk again, let alone skate, nor would he regain the use of his arms or hands. While reading about Jack that day, I imagined what it would feel like to hear such life changing news, how it would feel to be a parent and learn that your child, a child who was just beginning to blossom, was stopped cold in his tracks. Obviously, there are two ways to go with such devastating news, up or down. Jack and his family chose up.

I joined the Jack Jablonski Caring Bridge shortly after reading the story, and have been updated on his progress by his family (Mom does most of the updating) ever since. At times, I have cried out of sadness reading the journal entries. Other times, I have laughed. Mostly though, I have smiled from ear to ear reading of Jack’s progress, and yes, even with such a dire diagnosis, he has made progress, lots of it! His latest milestone? Rolling over. Other milestones have included moving his fingers, gaining some function in his arms (he can high five his friends!), and moving his left leg and ankle! Pretty freaking amazing. Some might say that some major miracles have been going on here, but not without the sheer determination and hard work of Jack himself.

The reason I am writing this post is to share with you someone who inspires me on a daily basis. A young man and his family who I have never met, but have managed to find a place in my heart. We all face what we think are massive obstacles in our daily lives, but in the grand scheme of things, they’re often not nearly as massive as we think they are. When I think of what Jack has gone through, and how he has remained so positive, so strong, so upbeat, so determined, I’m in complete awe. When I read of his progress, I cry tears of joy…for someone I have never met, but for someone who has touched my life.

Jack and his family have touched my life in a positive way since last December, and I’m attempting to share this wealth with others. They are a prime example that even when one might feel there is no way up, there always is. Jack’s leading the way (with a little help from his family, his friends, his hockey community, strangers), and he’s an inspiring person to follow…especially if, at this time in your life, you need a little support to help you along the way. Journal updates from Jack’s Caring Bridge  are sent directly to your inbox (generally, once every few weeks; just enter your email address, no fee to join), and if you like a dose of uplifting, powerful, inspiring news, that would be the place to get it. At the same time, you can add some words of support, share in Jack’s successes, and in some small way, provide inspiration to Jack his and family – full circle.

A few years ago, my father was diagnosed with Parkinson’s Disease. While at times, it’s easy to fall into negative thinking, worry about the future, think the pitying thoughts of Why my Dad?, Jack’s story has offered me a way to put things into perspective, to be grateful for what I have, and for what my Dad still has.  The Jablonski family has helped smack me back into reality, into appreciating all the good I have in my life.

What inspires you?

~Carolyn

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. brendaloveladyvideography
    Aug 25, 2012 @ 12:08:53

    Reblogged this on brendaloveladyvideography and commented:
    We all have our struggles but to learn from and be inspired by other souls is an amazing aspect of life.

    Reply

  2. magnuswendler
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 15:15:44

    I have often been inspired by the power of people to endure through such difficult circumstances as you describe above! I have read of stories of the power of mind and thought to bring about great and positively wonderful accomplishments. Some have cured themselves of cancerous tumors through the power of thinking positively and truly believing they can do it too!

    Reply

  3. Simply Om
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 16:47:41

    I completely agree, Brenda. I’m sure we also do our own fair share of inspiring of others as well, we may not even know it!

    Magnus, I have read the same, and I’m a firm believer that often, your own mental state, is half the battle, half the cure. If not more.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

liv.love.blog

everyday stuff: relationships, travel, style, food & more

omfg. so good.

if it tastes good, eat it.

AMANDA AUSTIN

Comedian. Writer. Actor.

total e-bag

The world according to Emily Belden, 400 words at a time.

Brittany Harrington

Cooking, Baking, Ideas and Art

Kim Constable

Author, Speaker, Yogi, Unschooling Mum

random olio

olio n. (OH-lee-oh): a miscellaneous mixture; a hodgepodge

Gen Y Idealist

I've been told my expectations out of life are too high

