My Love/Hate Relationship with Exercise

Okay, so it goes a little something like this: I see a workout program that I think looks fun, I order it, I get excited about its impending arrival, I buy a new workout outfit to celebrate, I receive said program in the mail, I start the program and within a matter of a few weeks…the novelty and excitement have worn off and I start slacking.  This is how I am, I fall in and out of love with exercise and it’s been this way for years.

Now, I’ve been working out for a long time.  A. Very. Long. Time.  I started exercising when I was a teenager; I would switch on the little T.V. in the rec room and bounce around to the local exercise program.  I remember the first exercise tape I got for Christmas one year – a Jane Fonda work out.  Forgive me, I was young and didn’t know any better.  From there, I progressed to more intense workouts including” the step”.  I loved it, and can proudly say that I only fell off of it a few times!  One Christmas, I asked for and received (yaaay!), an elliptical machine.  Back then, exercise was a big part of my life, I loved it; if I didn’t work out at least an hour a day, I just hadn’t done good enough.  Back then, I had a lot more time on my hands.

These days, trying to squeeze in an hour of exercise a day involves planning and juggling.  Today for instance, I woke up earlier than l think anyone in my building (5:45 a.m., sorry to my downstairs neighbor) and did 30 minutes of cardio from a new work out program I bought, and then I finished the workout, 30 minutes of strength training, when I got home from work.  The workout seems fun, and I sure was sweating – I think it’s doable.  It’s the diet plan that she “prescribes,” and insists we follow to a T in order for us to get the results she promises, that I’m worried about.  This diet is strict with a capital S.  When I was reading the diet I actually said out loud, “I’m gonna starve, I’m literally gonna starve on this.”  An example of one of the meals in the “menu”: 2 large celery stalks with natural peanut butter for lunch.  Not even the yummy peanut butter already living in my cupboard.  I love food – I love to cook it, I love to bake it and I love to eat it.  Hence my need for this program!  This is going to be a challenge.  But, I’m committed this time, I really am.  I hope.

My problem is that I just can’t seem to stick with a program or a schedule, and I’m not sure why.  I love the way I feel when I work out, I like (sort of, let’s be honest) the results I see when I work out; I have never regretted working out so why can’t I just stick with it?

I’m sure there are all sorts of psychological reasons for this, but I’m just looking for a simple reason here, not therapy.  Maybe it’s because there’s nothing calming or soothing about working out which is one of the things I love about yoga.  I always finish my yoga feeling stronger and like I’ve had a work out, but I also feel balanced and centered.  Maybe it’s boredom; doing the same 3 or 4 workouts over and over and over, it’s like Chinese water torture. Maybe it’s just because I have a problem with commitment, which is true, but that’s a whole other post!

Well, I have the next 90 days to either fall in love with this program and order the next stage, or kick it to the curb.  Day two starts tomorrow and I’m crossing my fingers because I’m getting a little tired of this on again, off again love affair.

~Trisha~

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Click here
    Aug 16, 2012 @ 02:11:02

    Great post today. You have an excellent blog here.

    You have to check out this site – Change your life today

    Reply

  2. desireeevans333
    Aug 18, 2012 @ 08:00:48

    Like I said, You remind me more and more of me. I was so thin in high school, I actually modeled a while. Now I have to literaly force myself each day to exercise. I think I’m losing one or two pounds maybe (I don’t look at the scale anymore., haha) I’m going to do better though.

    Reply

    • Simply Om
      Aug 18, 2012 @ 12:03:10

      That’s funny, I’m not a fan of my scale any more either! I hate stepping on that thing. I know if it’s a number I don’t like, I’ll have to do a lot of self-talk to get me to a “good” place for the rest of the day. I usually just don’t bother! It’s not worth it.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

liv.love.blog

everyday stuff: relationships, travel, style, food & more

omfg. so good.

if it tastes good, eat it.

AMANDA AUSTIN

Comedian. Writer. Actor.

total e-bag

The world according to Emily Belden, 400 words at a time.

Brittany Harrington

Cooking, Baking, Ideas and Art

Kim Constable

Author, Speaker, Yogi, Unschooling Mum

random olio

olio n. (OH-lee-oh): a miscellaneous mixture; a hodgepodge

Gen Y Idealist

I've been told my expectations out of life are too high

