This is a Lot Longer Than I Thought it Would Be…

I just finished writing my third recipe for this here blog – I’ve only posted one so far but…these things take time!  After I finished my yogurt recipe, I actually went back up to the top to make a note about the length of the recipe, basically apologizing/justifying because I was that surprised at how long it was.  The other day I wrote another one and had the same thing happen to me.  It was a lot longer than I thought it was going to be.  It’s a very simple curry recipe and yet it’s the length of a short story.

Well, it’s happened again.  I was finishing up the recipe which I will be posting this weekend (after it’s been made and pics have been taken!) when I noticed the page count at the bottom of my screen change to 3.  Yep, that’s right, 3 pages!!!  Now granted, this particular post is actually 2 recipes but still.

I can’t imagine what would happen if I were ever to write an actual cookbook – it would be a tome, War and Peace style.  Not that it would have any more recipes than the average cookbook, no, I just can’t seem to shut up when I’m talking about food (I love food in case you’re wondering).  I suppose it could be worse, I could leave things up in the air letting you figure things out on your own, but that’s just not how I roll, no siree.

So maybe I’m a tad long-winded and a wee-bit particular when I’m writing these recipes and I do apologize, but I’m only doing it so nobody needs to guess at things, wondering if I meant this when I actually meant that.  I’ve read enough poorly-written recipes from chefs who get paid to write them to know that more information is better than not enough.  I mean, we’re not all professional chefs; never assume that we know what you’re talking about – chances are, we don’t.

It’s kind of like food; it’s always better to have too much food than not enough when you’re having people over.  The more information I can give to ensure success with my recipes, the better – I don’t want anyone wasting their time and money because they had to guess at something that I didn’t explain well enough.

Like I said, that’s just not how I do things!

~Trisha~

Leave a Reply

liv.love.blog

everyday stuff: relationships, travel, style, food & more

omfg. so good.

if it tastes good, eat it.

AMANDA AUSTIN

Comedian. Writer. Actor.

Brittany Harrington

Cooking, Baking, Ideas and Art

Kim Constable

Author, Speaker, Yogi, Unschooling Mum

random olio

olio n. (OH-lee-oh): a miscellaneous mixture; a hodgepodge

Gen Y Idealist

I've been told my expectations out of life are too high

jamaiquina

"Living creatively means never turning the tap off. It is not about what you do, but who and how you are."

